The Incredible Lord Shiva’s 12 Jyotirlinga Yatra for Spiritual Blessings

Lord Shiva is worshiped in the form of lingam all over the world by the followers of Hindu religion. The Hindu mythology elucidates in “Mahapuran” that Lord Shiva manifested himself as “Lingam of Light” which is called “Jyotirlingam”. In India, there are 12 Jyotirlingams of Lord Shiva in different states and every Shivalinga has its own significance and meanings in Hindu mythology which has described below respectively.

12 Jyotirlingas

Somnath Jyotirlingas Temple


It is located at Somnath Patan near Veraval in Kathaiwad district in Gujarat.  Purans and other Hindu mythological books have stated that Somnath Jyotirlingas named after the Moon God who worshipped Lord Shiva and was blessed by him in this place. Since the God Moon called as Som, devotes built the temple on holy place and named it Somnath. The temple has been built in 4 phases in different eras of history where Lord Soma created it with gold, Ravi by silver, Lord Krishna by wood and Bhimadeva by stone.

Malikarjun Temple:

Malikarjun Jyotirlinga

One of the 12 Jyotirlingas is Malikarjun on Shri Shaila Mountain at the banks of Patal Ganga in Andhra Pradesh.  Mostly devotees visit this place at the time of Mahashivratri to attend the yearly fair. This is the only temple where devotees can touch the idol of Malikarajun which represent the deity Parvati and Lord Shiva.

Nagnath Temple:

Nagnath Jyotirlinga

 Nagnath on the coast of Saurashtra, at the routes between Gomati and bait Dwarka in Gujarat is popularly known as Nageshwar Jyotirlinga. It is believed that devotees visit this place to get protected from all the sorts of poisons.  The most astonishing thing about this temple is the position of linga which is facing south and Gomugam facing east due to the reasoning justified by the devotee Naamdev and others.


Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga

Bhimashankar temple has the location of picturesque scenes on the banks of River Sahayadri at the north-west of Khed, near Pune in Maharashtra. According to the legends, Lord Shiva appeared here to kill the demon Bhima and later manifested himself in the “Light of Linga” the Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga.

Vishwanath Temple:

Vishwanath Temple Jyotirlinga

 In the holy city of Varanasi, Vishwanath temple idolizes one of the twelve Jyotirlingamas of Lord Shiva and believed that it is the first linga. It is believed that people who die here gets Tarak mantra from the lord and the habitats of this place are also blessed with liberation and happiness by the supreme power.

Vaidhyanath Temple:

Vaidhyanath Temple

The Parali village between Kanyakumari and Ujjain is a place of another Jyotirlinga named as Vaidhyanath. It is written in holy books that lingam situated in this place bestow Amrit whosoever touches it in a hope to get Amrit. As it is believed that at the time of Amrit Manthan, Lord Shiva had all the Amrit and didn’t allow the demons to touch it. Hence it is saved for pilgrims of Lord Shiva.

Rameshwaram Temple:

Rameshwaram Jyotirlinga

The southernmost of the 12 Jyotirlingams of India is located in the island of Rameswaram in Rameshwaram temple. To reach the temple one has to cover off the Sethu coast of Tamil Nadu via the Pamban Bridge across the sea.  It is believed that when Shri Ram came back from Sri Lanka, he worshipped here to Lord Shiva and since then the devotees of Shri Ram and Lord Shiva worship there.

Kedarnath Temple:

Kedarnath Temple

 Kedarnath is the most renowned temple of Hindus and is located at the height of 12,000 feet in the magnificent surroundings of Rudra Himalaya range. The devotees can only visit this holy place for 6 months (April- September) and it is necessary to pay oblation to the sacred linga to complete traditional pilgrim.

Shri Trymbakeshwar Temple:

Shri Trymbakeshwar Temple

One of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva is located at the mountain of Brahmagiri, the home of River Godawari Nasik, Maharashtra.  As per Shiv Puran, Godavari, Gautam Rishi and other gods requested Lord Shiva to bestow his blessings in this place and stayed here by the name of Trymbakeshwar. It is believed that once in twelve years all gods come down to Nasik to bless the humanity.

Grishneshwar Temple:

Grishneshwar Temple

Grishneshwar is one of the ancient temples of Lord Shiva and considered as abode of the 12 Jyotirlinga. It is located at the village called Verul and is an example of kindness of Lord Shiva for his pilgrims. The name and the Lord got this name by one of the spiritual devotee who lost her son but didn’t have any skeptics about the power of divine god. Later, Lord Shiva reincarnates his son and manifested himself in a linga.

Mahakaleshwar Temple:

Mahankaleshwar Temple

One of Shrine Jyotirlinga enshrined in Mahakaleshwar temple on the banks of River Kshipra, in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh. There are numerous stories related to this Jyotirlinga but the one narrated in Puranas is about a kid named Shrikar.  The boy worshipped a stone by the name of Lord Shiva and to pay gratitude to his prayers, lord manifested himself in the same stone from that time the Linga is worshipped by all the devotees of Shiva.

Omkareshwar Temple:

Omkareshwar Temple

 Omkareshwar Temple located on the hills of Mandhata on the Coast of Narmada River in Madhya Pradesh. It is believed that Lord Shiva gave the boon to all other gods and divided the linga in two parts for this sacred place. One part is popularly known as Omkareshwara and other one is famous for Amaleshwara or Amareshwar.

About the author

Tour My India Tour My India- Recognized by Department of Tourism- Government of India, Indian Mountaineering Foundation and IATO, is one of the most globally oriented online travel companies in India that perfectly specializes in wildlife tours, adventure tours, hill station tour, pilgrimage and heritage tours in India. For a complete India Holidays tour, the one best name is that synchronizes all the captivations in a more impressive form. Follow us on Facebook, Google+. Twitter or Email us and stay connected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>